# **CNR STUDENT LEADER ELECTION GUIDELINES**

#### 1. General

- 1.1. The serving Council for Education, Transformation and Advocacy [CETA] members of the College of Natural Resources will be responsible for conducting the election of new CETA members.
- **1.2.** CETA will be the apex student governing body of the College of Natural Resources.
- **1.3.** The Election Committee comprised of Student Service Division [SSD] members (Dean of Student Affairs [DSA], Student Service Officers [SSOs], and CETA) will request assistance from the Election Commission of Bhutan [ECB] in Punakha during the election.

### 2. CETA [Council for Education, Transformation and Advocacy]

- 2.1. There shall be 13 posts for CETA; Chief Councilor, Deputy Chief Councilor, Student Secretary, Student Treasurer, Games Councilor, Culture Councilor, three female Residence Councilors for Dekidling campus, three male Residence Councilors and one female Residence Councilor for Gawaling campus.
- **2.2.** The Chief Councilor shall be selected from third year students of the four years programme and the second-year students of the three year programme, there shall be a single Chief Councilor either a male or a female.
- **2.3.** The Deputy Chief Councilor will be selected from the second-highest voter from the election done for the chief councilor.
  - **2.3.1.** However, to maintain gender balance, if the elected Chief Councilor is a male, the Deputy Chief Councilor will be a female by default and vice versa. A female would be appointed for the post despite a male (kept at standby) having the next highest vote and vice versa.
- **2.4.** The Student Secretary will be selected from second year students of the four-year programme and the first year students of the three year program. The Student Secretary can be male or female.
- **2.5.** One Student Treasurer will be selected from first year students from all the programs, disregard of gender.
- 2.6. A total of 7 Residence Councilors shall be selected from Dekidling campus (Block 1, 2 & 3), Gawaling campus (Block 4, 5, 6 & 7). There shall be 3 female Residence Councilors for Dekidling campus, three male Residence Councilors and one female Residence Councilor for Gawaling campus.

- 3. Selection of the Candidates
- **3.1.** The SSD in consultation with serving CETA members will announce the position of student leader's election through the college website and social media (Facebook: CETA page and LPS page).
- 3.2. The shortlisting of candidates will be done by student election committee members.
- **3.3.** The shortlisting of the candidates for the respective posts shall be done a fortnight before the election.
- **3.4.** A short interview will be conducted with the DSA and the SSOs, two days after the shortlisting.
- **3.5.** There shall not be an applicant from any postgraduate programmes.

### 4. Campaigning

- **4.1.** The campaigning for the candidates will be held for a week following their shortlisting.
- **4.2.** The campaigning around the campus will be held for 10 days.
- **4.3.** The official campaigning of candidates in the whole students' community will be held for 3 days.
- **4.4.** Election Committee will organize a campaign for individual posts in an organized manner allotting equaltime for each candidate before the poll day during which they shall talk about their manifestoand pledges.
- **4.5.** The orders of the speakers at the campaign shall be in alphabetical order of their first name.
- **4.6.** Candidates must refrain from defamatory and derogatory statements about their rival candidate and avoid the use of language that is provocative, causes hatred, and mocks other candidates
- **4.7.** The candidates must compulsorily attend the campaign organized by Election Committee. If a candidate isunable to attend the campaign, he/she must seek exemption by submitting a written request to the DSA and the SSOs, stating the reason justifying the exemption. Otherwise, he/she will be removed as a candidate.
- **4.8.** Campaigning shall be halted 48 hours before Election Day. If the candidates go against this, they shall be dealt with accordingly.

### 5. Voters

- **5.1.** Every individual who is a part of the College of Natural Resources is a qualified voter. The absence of the students must be known by the SSOs, otherwise, action will be taken.
- **5.2.** All the qualified voters shall be evidenced by their Student identity card and the staff shall be evidenced else way.

- **5.3.** For the election of the Chief Councilor, all the students, as well as the non-teaching and teaching staff, shall participate.
- **5.4.** For the election of the Student Secretary, Treasurer, Games Councilor, and Culture Councilor, only the students of the college shall participate.
- **5.5.** For the election of the Residence Councilors, all the students residing in Choekhobling campus, Gawaling campus, and Dekidling campus shall participate. However, no day scholar students shall participate in the election of the Residence Councilor.

### 6. Preparation for election

- **6.1.** Election Committee will prepare an adequate number of Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) from the ECB in Punakha.
- **6.2.** Election Committee will allocate various tasks for the election among themselves and other volunteers' student if required and will be also trained on how to properly conduct an election with the help of the election officers of ECB Punakha.
- **6.3.** All the EVMs required in the election shall be checked and prepared.
- **6.4.** The EVM will contain passport-sized photos of the candidates to recognize them. The passport-sized photo will only be accepted.
- **6.5.** Election Committee will also prepare a voter list for the male and females following their faculty.

#### 7. Election Day

- **7.1.** The duration and location of the Election Day shall be fixed by the SSD.
- **7.2.** There shall be a separate voting compartment prepared by the Election Committee for the qualified voters.
- **7.3.** There shall be three polling officers, one processing the male voters and the other processing the female voters in their respective polling stations and supporting them as and when required.
- **7.4.** The voters shall move in an organized and civil manner, and comply with the instructions from the Election Committee.
- **7.5.** The voters shall vote for only one candidate per EVM.
- **7.6.** The polling officers shall close the poll after all the voters present have cast their votes or when the duration of the Election Day has ended, and count the results immediately thereafter.

# 8. Declaration of the election results.

- **8.1.** If the highest numbers of votes are secured by two or more candidates in equal numbers on the completion of the counting of votes, there shall be re-election between the candidates securing an equal number of votes.
- **8.2.** The election results shall be counted immediately after the close of polls, and shall be declared in the presence of student election committee members.
- **8.3.** The results shall be announced to the college later in the evening.

# 9. Dispute.

- 9.1. Any disputes during the election and related to the results shall be dealt with by the SSD.
- 9.2. A short resolution shall be let known to the voters as well.